The lil’ green frog is back

March 1, 2008

That was a long break wasn’t it?

I have been pretty busy late last year organising the events surrounding my convocation (took my family on a road trip, whee!) as well as changing place of residence. My new place didn’t have internet connection for a good 1-2 months so I guess that’s self-explanatory.

I’ve recently joined the working world and starting my career as a lil’ junior doc rostered with the psychiatric unit. Work has kept me fairly busy; suddenly it’s mostly eat/work/daydream/sleep and the cycle repeats throughout most of the week.

5 things I realised about not being a student:-

I no longer have the wonderful opportunity of catching up on sleep during the daytime. I can’t nap during lectures anymore because I no longer need to attend them.

There are no assignments or essays for me to do. Only:-

     Medication charts (what you wanna give ’em)

     Admission papers (why they are at where I am)

     Discharge papers (the ‘get out of jail free’ card)

     Transfer/referral papers (why they’d be better off being somewhere else)

     Medico-legal paperwork (for patients who are obviously very upset)

     Daily mini-stories for each patient (some call it progress report)

     Pathology request forms (what you’d like to…uh…extract)

     Imaging request forms (because Superman is on his annual leave)

     Procedural request forms (where you’d like to probe them)

     And many many more…

I don’t really have to count the hours till lunch break arrives because now it involves sneaking off somewhere to wolf down my lunch in 10 minutes. People often ask how long  our lunch breaks are and the best answer I can come up with is ‘as long as till I start feeling guilty for disappearing’. Trust me. Not easy to sit down and have a long quiet meal when your daily to-do list is swirling around in your head.

There is not a day that has gone by yet without me wondering if there’s anything I’ve forgotten to do or have done wrongly.  It can be anything from the reasonable:-

     Did I prescribe the correct dose?

     Have I checked his discharge documents?

     Did I affix the correct patient bradma to the correct form?

     Is there an important test I overlooked?

     Were his blood results really normal?

….to the ridiculous:-

     Did I stepped unto the patient’s urine?

     Now where did we put that stool sample?

     Was my zipper undone during the family meeting?

     Is that patient scratching his bum, or what?

     Did that guy whom just patted me on the shoulder…was the one scratching his bum earlier?

And finally, we don’t have to get all antsy about having our marks deducted due to our lesser moments because suddenly, it’s all coming out from your pay.

*     *     *     *     *

I’m back, folks. Stay tuned!

5 Responses to “The lil’ green frog is back”

  1. Kwang said

    Welcome backkkkkkkkkkk!!

  2. drew said

    hey, glad to see that your lil’ e-world springs back to life again! welcome back!!!

  3. ki jin said

    welcome back!

Leave a Reply

